Posted on February 22, 2017 11:31

During Lent the Stations of the Cross will be held on Fridays at these times:

  • 5:45 p.m. English, after the 5:15 p.m. Mass
  • 7:00 p.m. Spanish after the 6:30 p.m. Rosary


  • Abstinence: from meat is to observed by all Catholics 14 years old and older on Ash Wednesday, and all the Fridays of Lent.
  • Fasting: is to be observed on Ash Wednesday by all Catholics who are 18 years of age and not yet 59. Those who are bound by this may take only one full meal. Two smaller meals are permitted if necessary to maintain strength according to one’s needs, but eating solid foods between meals is not permitted.
  • The Special Paschal Fast and Abstinence are prescribed for Good Friday, and encouraged for Holy Saturday.

“The season of Lent is a preparation for the celebration of Easter. The Liturgy prepares the catechumens for the celebration of the Paschal Mystery by the several stages of Christian Initiation; it also prepares the faithful, who recalled their baptism and do penance in preparation for Easter.”
(General Norms for the Liturgical Year, #27)

By the threefold disciplines of fasting, almsgiving and prayers, the Church observes Lent from Ash Wednesday until the evening of Holy Thursday. All of the faithful and the catechumens should undertake the serious practice of these three traditions. Failure to observe any penitential days at all or a substantial number of such days must be considered serious.

“On weekdays of Lent, we strongly recommend participation in daily Mass and self-imposed observances of Fasting. In light of grave human needs which weigh on the Christian conscience in all seasons, we urge, particularly during Lent, generosity to local, national and world programs of sharing of all things needed to translate our duty to penance, into a means of implementing the right of the poor to their part of our abundance.”
(U.S. Bishops’ Statement of Penitential Practices - 1966) 

Bookmark and Share